MVLC Member Databases
Merrimac Library is part of the Merrimack Valley Library Consortium (MVLC). As a MVLC member library card holder, you may access high-quality local, state, and regionally funded databases of full-text periodicals, health and business resources, biographical and literary databases from home.
Select a database below. When prompted, input your 14-digit MVLC member library patron bar code and begin searching! This will initiate a 2-hour cookie session. After this time period, you will be required to enter your bar code again.
If you do not have a MVLC member library card, please contact your library.
Languages
- Rocket Languages
- Learn a language with online courses and software from Rocket Languages, which offers 11 different foreign languages.
Digital Downloads
- Freegal Music Service
- An extensive library of digital music files. Genres include: Rythm & Blues, Pop, Latin Pop, Jazz, Country, Classical, and Rock. Merrimac library patrons can download two songs per week.
Books
- Safari Books Online
- An on-demand digital library providing access to over 12,400 technology, creative and business books from leading publishers. Safari Books Online offers immediate access to many books with lots of answers — not just one.
- NetLibrary
- Electronic books on popular topics such as travel, computers, consumer health and business on the web.
Encyclopedias
- Grolier Online
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and New Book of Knowledge.
Magazines / Journals / Newspapers / Books / Research
- bigchalk eLibrary
- eLibrary is a full-text database of consumer-oriented magazines, books, newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, photographs and maps. eLibrary is easy to use!
- NewsBank, Inc.
- Instant full-text access to individual newspaper titles - Boston Globe (1980-current), Boston Herald (1997-current), Worcester Telegram & Gazette (1989-current), and Springfield Union-News (1988-current).
- EBSCOHost
- EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide, representing millions of end-users. Databases include:
- NoveList
- GreenFile
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- Teacher Reference Center
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
- Gale Cengage Learning
- Provides access to popular magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, newspapers, newswire services, business directories, investment reports, health pamphlets, prescription drug information, and literature reviews. Databases include:
Cross Searchable Databases
- General OneFile
- Academic OneFile
- Health Reference Center Academic
- General Business File ASAP
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- The New York Times
- Student Edition
- Massachusetts History Online
- Educator’s Reference Complete
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- General Reference Center Gold
- Informe
Additional Products
- Literature Resources from Gale
- Books & Authors
- Business and Company Resource Center
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
- Gale Biography In Context
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
- Gale Science In Context
- Gale Student Resources In Context
- Gale U.S. History In Context
- Gale World History In Context
- Global Issues in Context
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
- Junior Edition - K12
- Kids InfoBits
- Literature Resource Center - LRC
- LitFinder
Special Collections
- OCLC WorldCat (OCLC Online Union Catalog)
- Over 46 million bibliographic records and holdings information vital for collection development, cataloging, authority control, and retrospective conversion services.
- Massachusetts Manuscripts, Archives & Special Collections
- The Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections Directory profiles collections in more than 650 Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk’s offices.
This service is provided to the residents of northeast Massachusetts by the Northeast Massachusetts Regional Library System through state funding administered by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners



